trusting You

Posted: 2009/03/07 in Uncategorized

dear God,

i am finding myself ending every prayer these days with the words “trusting You” and  questioning myself on what i really mean.  You are teaching my so much about this little phrase.  when i say these words, this is what my heart is crying.  i trust You that You will bring glory to Yourself what ever the cost.  do not let me say these words with the connotation of my expectation bleeding through.  i realize that trusting You does not alway hold my wants and desires.  i am not trusting that you WILL bring my wife home safely though that is what my heart clings to.  as these words roll off my lips with the dream of my bride returning home safely to me do not let that be my emphasis.  i cry from the depths of my being that You be glorified through the service of my wife; that lives would be changed by her sacrifice (what ever that be).  our lives hold no consequence on the outcome of this trip except for the fact that when we surrendered our lives to You and place our total trust in You, that what ever You decide is praise worthy, we surrender to.  Stacy and i have counted the cost of being Your disciple and for that we say, “we trust You.”

Luke 14:25-35:

25 Now great crowds accompanied him, and he turned and said to them, 26 “If anyone comes to me and does not hate his own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be My disciple. 27 Whoever does not bear his own cross and come after me cannot be My disciple. 28 For which of you, desiring to build a tower, does not first sit down and count the cost, whether he has enough to complete it? 29 Otherwise, when he has laid a foundation and is not able to finish, all who see it begin to mock him, 30 saying, ‘This man began to build and was not able to finish.’ 31 Or what king, going out to encounter another king in war, will not sit down first and deliberate whether he is able with ten thousand to meet him who comes against him with twenty thousand? 32 And if not, while the other is yet a great way off, he sends a delegation and asks for terms of peace. 33 So therefore, any one of you who does not renounce all that he has cannot be my disciple.  34 “Salt is good, but if salt has lost its taste, how shall its saltiness be restored? 35 It is of no use either for the soil or for the manure pile. It is thrown away. He who has ears to hear, let him hear.”

Comments
  1. […] were once a slave to.  this protection has eternal ramifications.  preservation because you can trust that He give you strength to make it through today, as His beloved child.  purpose because you […]

Leave a Reply

